The annual Prize Giving ceremony took place on Friday, 23 May with the whole school in attendance.  While it wasn’t possible to recognise all achievements made by our students this academic year, it was an ideal opportunity to emphasise a huge range of accomplishments. Below is a list of the most important achievements of the year.

Later that same evening, Fr Baxter celebrated the graduation mass and ceremony with our sixth years.

Prize Giving, Awards & Scholarships 2014


Bank of Ireland Student of the year: Cathy McGettigan


School Spirit Award: Aoife Conlon







Transition Year Students of the Year: Ciara Rigney and Sinéad Reidy

Award for Full Attendance Over Whole School Career: Valerie Oyiki, Claire Hamrock, Peace Oviawe and Susan Obaseki

UCD Ad Astra Scholarship: Ellen O Rourke

trinity sch

Entrance Exhibition Scholarships Trinity College: Eva Cooney, Rachael Bowe, Florence Fanning and Dearbhail Ní Catháin

Entrance Scholarship UCD: Annette Benson

Entrance Scholarship GMIT: Kristina Kudupa

Entrance Scholarship St. Patrick’s College, Drumcondra: Amy Allen

Parents’ Association Bursaries: Claire Hamm & Róisín Lawlor

Gold Certificate Beaver Computing Contest: Béga Murray, Sinéad Carroll & Lydia Costello

Selected to train for Maths & Science Olympiads: Emma Kennedy, Aisling Sheridan & Therese Heelan

Top Junior Cert Result 2013: Emma Haran

National Finalists CIMA Business Studies Quiz: Corinna Mbugua, Aisling Benson, Róisín Burke & Carol Obaseki


Nicola Ward Trophy for first year Public Speaking: Tatyana Jocher

Barra Flynn Memorial Scholarships for Law: Teresa Carty & Florence Fanning

Invited to participate in CTY Ireland Summer Programme: Emily Grace

Grade 8 Distinction RIAM: Máirín Ryan

grand prix

Grand Prix Francais: Valerie Oyiki

Naughton Cup for Senior Essay Writing: Valerie Oyiki

Naughton Cup for Junior Essay Writing: Maeve McMahon

Winner Westmeath Soroptomist Public Speaking: Máirín Ryan

Winners Midlands ISTA Quiz: Susan Obaseki, Mary Diffley & Aiveen Digby


Scifest Discover Space Award: Tierna Maguire

Scifest Best Communicator: Sarah O Rourke, Emma Clarke & Eleanor Dwyer

Scifest 1st  Senior Physical Science: Catriona Clear, Fiona Clear & Finnuala Moody

Scifest 1st Senior Health Science: Catriona Clear, Fiona Clear & Finnuala Moody

Scifest Pharmaceutical Chemical Ireland Award: Catriona Clear, Fiona Clear & Finnuala Moody

Scifest 1st Junior Life Science: Julie Ryan & Maeve McMahon

Scifest 2nd Senior Physical Science: Doireann Langan, Maedbh Hurst & Catriona Gilligan

Invitation Irish Junior Maths Competition: Mololowa Owogboro

Spectrum Cover Design: Gráinne White

Art Award for Outstanding Artist: Gráinne White

Music Awards for Outstanding Musicians: Molly Crossen, Máirín Ryan & Bairbre O Dwyer


Gaeltacht Scholarships: Ciara Casey & Kasey Bolger

First Senior Poetry Category SNG: Eva Barry

First Junior Poetry Category SNG: Emily Grace

First Place Feachtas Tráth na gCeist: Aisling Dowd, Eva Barry, Emily Grace & Síomha Kirwan

Winners Comortas Cois Tine: TY Group

German Language Scholarship: Eva Barry

Doodle4Google Finalist: Aoife Collins.

Orla Kelly

Special Merit Texaco Art Competition: Orla Kelly

Gaisce – The President’s Award Silver: 11 Students

Gaisce, The President’s Award Bronze: 29 students

Winner Junk Kouture 2014: Ruth Gallagher, Jane Wallace & Emma Kinsella

WEEE Prize Junk Kouture 2014: Aoife Mannion, Niamh Brady & Muirenn Lyons

Best Costumes All Ireland Briery Gap TY Drama Competition: Suzie Hogan & the Cast of ‘Snow White & the One Dwarf’


Team Winners Bugler Shield for Debating: Caroline Kinsella & Niamh Maher

Joint Best Individual Speaker: Valerie Oyiki & Jessica Howard

Best Newcomer Alpha de Beta Society: Eimear Devaney

Communications Medal – Ciara Rigney



Sports Awards

Hockey Cup: Máirín Ryan & Aiveen Digby

Basketball Trophy: Aoife Ryan


Gaelic Football Award: Marion Gildae & Ashleigh Rose Coyle









Boland Swimming Cup: Olwyn SheridanathletO’Regan Athletics Cup: Mary Walsh, Marion Gildae, Kate Burke & Caoimhe Curran

Member Connacht High Performance Swimming Squad: Alanna Friel, Sophie Lowe & Aibhlin Clabby

Selected for the Connacht Interpro Swimming Squad: Alanna Friel & Olwyn Sheridan


Selected for Connacht U16 Hockey Squad: Anna McGann, Lucy McMicken and Hannah O Connor

Connacht Semi-Finalists: First Year & Second Year Hockey Teams

Connacht Senior Cross Country Champions 2014: M. Burke, V. Burke, M. Hurst, A. Daly & O. Sheridan

Selected for Roscommon Gaelic Panels: Orla O Neill & Ashleigh Rose Coyle

Selected for Irish U-15 Basketball Squad: Edel Ryan

Represented Ireland at World Kickboxing Championships: Lily Mannion

Five time medalist at World Taekwondo Championships: Lily Mannion

Certificates Were Handed Out For Participation in These Programmes:

Transition Year

big sis

Big Sister Little Sister

Gaisce, The President’s Award

sil gais

Sage Business Software Certificate