5th B Gaisce

The annual Prize Giving ceremony took place on Wednesday, 20 May with the whole school in attendance.  Due to time constraints it wasn’t possible to recognise all achievements made by our students this academic year; however it was an ideal opportunity to emphasise a huge range of accomplishments ranging from academic, artistic, sporting to personal challenges.

Below is a list of the most important achievements of the year.

Prize Giving, Awards & Scholarships 2015

boi student of year

Bank of Ireland Student of the Year: Irene Milton

School Spirit Award: Niamh Geoghegan

ty student

Transition Year Student of the Year: Corinna Mbugua

UCD Ad Astra Scholarships: Annette Benson & Aiveen Digby

UCD Entrance Scholarship: Claire Hamrock

Entrance Exhibition Scholarships Trinity College: Kate Burke, Mary Diffley & Máirín Ryan

JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship: Kate Burke

Parents’ Association Bursaries: Aoife Conlon & Susan Obaseki

beaver gold

Gold Certificate Beaver Computing Contest: Megan Melvin

Selected to train for Science Olympiads: Aisling Benson

Selected for Maths Olympiad: Amy Dolan & Catarina de Concalves

Top Junior Cert Result 2014: Aisling Benson, Nuala Commins & Therese O’Reilly



john tara

Nicola Ward Trophy for Public Speaking: Tara Flanagan

Barra Flynn Memorial Scholarships for Law: Ellen Brophy







grand prix land

Grand Prix Français: Catriona Gilligan

Winner Westmeath & All Ireland Finalist Soroptomist Public Speaking: Ciara Rigney

Sole Irish Representative at the Model UN The Hague: Jessica Howard

Irish Delegate to EYP Greece: Leah Moloney

Winner Better Together Award: Ciara Rigney

Sen Naughton

Naughton Cup for Senior Essay Writing: Hannah Casey

Naughton Cup for Junior Essay Writing: Hannah McManus

Winners BT Young Scientist: Julie Ryan & Maeve McMahon

National Finalists ISTA Science Quiz: Caitriona Clear, Caroline Kinsella & Catriona Gilligan

Scifest 1st Intermediate Physical Science: Katie O’Rourke, Isea O’Brien & Aobh Nic Ghiolla Phadraig

Scifest Best Display: Tierna Maguire, Megan Heneghan, Anu Adeniji & Shauna Martin

Scifest 1st Agricultural Science: Katie Commins, Alicia Lawless & Isabelle Clarke

Scifest 1st Enterprise Ireland Award: Tierna Maguire

Scifest Pharma Chemical Ireland Award: Katie O’Rourke, Isea O’Brien & Aobh Nic Ghiolla Phadraig

Scifest 1st Intermediate Life Science: Aisling Benson, Maeve Bass & Róisín Burke

Scifest 1st Junior Life Science: Kate Duffy

Invitation to Irish Junior Maths Competition: Ailbhe Moylan, Caoimhe Lawless & Katie Commins

music awards

Music Awards for Outstanding Musicians: Tamara McLaughlin & Ciara Lawless

Invited To Join National Youth Orchestra: Molly Crossen

Second Place Clarinet Dublin Feis Ceoil: Molly Crossen

Winner Violin Fr Maitiú Feis Ceoil: Eva Barry

First Senior Poetry Category SNG: Hannah Casey

First Junior Poetry Category SNG: Aideen O’Halloran

Second Seanfhocal SNAG: Tatjana Jocher

National Finalists Feachtas Tráth na gCeist: Eva Barry, Aisling O’Dowd, Maeve McMahon & Emily Grace

Second Place Cuisle Poet of the Year: Caoimhe Kenny

spectrum cover

Doodle4Google Finalist: Aibhlin Clabby

Special Merit Texaco Art Competition: Sadbh Beirne & Róisín Grennan

First Place Credit Union Art Competition: Catherine O’Neill

Spectrum Cover Design: Aibhlin Clabby

Gaisce – The President’s Award Silver: Sinead Reidy, Olivia De Paor, Niamh Brady & Amy Dolan

Gaisce – The President’s Award Bronze: 39 senior students

Team Winners Bugler Shield for Debating: Eimear Devaney & Caroline Kinsella

Best Individual Speaker: Ciara Rigney:

Bord Gáis Theatre Award: TY Cast of ‘A Comedy Of Errors’

commun medal

Communications Medal: Aisling Benson

Full Attendance 2014/15: Imogen Gray, Carol Obaseki, Patrycja Miecznik, Faith Okungbowa, Kelly Ann Bohan, Isabel Hamilton, Julie Healy, Rebecca Armstrong, Wei Rou Chieng, Aoife Sheeran, Caoimhe Lawless, Daniella Obikoya, Clodagh Keenan, Niamh Henry & Lamide Olaoye

Attend 1st


Sports Awards

Hockey Cup: Hannah Casey

hockey cup


Boland Swimming Cup: Maedhb Hurst & Niamh McNamara

athlet cup

O’Regan Athletics Cup: Annie Daly, Veronica Burke, Michelle Burke, Maedhb Hurst & Karen Pillion

National Powerlifting Champions: Amy Donoghue, Mary Kostanyan & Aibhlin Clabby

National Equestrian Champions: Kate Derwin & Kirsten McCormack

Irish U19 Soccer Squad: Caoimhe O’Reilly

Member Connacht High Performance Swimming Squad: Alanna Friel, Sophie Lowe & Aibhlin Clabby

Selected for the Connacht Interpro Swimming Squad: Aibhlin Clabby & Sophie Lowe

Selected for Connacht Hockey Squads: Anna McGann, & Aoife Healy

basket portrait

 Basketball Trophy: Shauna Kilroy

Connacht Semi-Finalists: First Year & Second Year Hockey Teams

Selected for Roscommon Gaelic Panels: Emma Curran, Sorcha Casey & Julie Healy

Selected for Westmeath Gaelic Panels: Grace Halligan & Brionna Geoghegan

Selected for Midlands Basketball Squad: Rebecca Armstrong & Alanna Nic Ghiolla Phadraig

Leinster Champions: U14 Gaelic Team

All Ireland Cross Country Finalists: Aoife Greene, Eva McKiernan, Alanna Friel, Annie Daly, Ciara Greene & Ciara Rushe

All Ireland Junior Champion 3000m race walk 2015: Veronica Burke

Member of Irish Race Walking Team That Won Gold: Veronica Burke

Triathlete Irish Squad: Maedhb Hurst

football portrait

Gaelic Football Award: Aisling Flynn

Certificates Were Handed Out For Participation in These Programmes:

Transition Year

Big Sister Little Sister

Gaisce, The President’s Award